The official call for papers for QPL 2017 is below. It is also available is plain text for re-distribution.

                   CALL FOR PAPERS

             The 14th International Conference on
              Quantum Physics and Logic (QPL)

                    July 3-7, 2017
      Radboud Universiteit, Nijmegen, Netherlands


The 14th International Conference on Quantum Physics and Logic (QPL)
will take place at Radboud University between Monday 3 and
Friday 7 July, 2017.

The conference brings together researchers working on mathematical
foundations of quantum physics, quantum computing, and related areas,
with a focus on structural perspectives and the use of logical tools,
ordered algebraic and category-theoretic structures, formal languages,
semantical methods, and other computer science techniques applied to
the study of physical behaviour in general. Work that applies
structures and methods inspired by quantum theory to other fields
(including computer science) is also welcome.

Previous QPL events were held in Glasgow (2016), Oxford (2015),
Kyoto (2014), Barcelona (2013), Brussels (2012), Nijmegen (2011),
Oxford (2010), Oxford (2009), Reykjavik (2008), Oxford (2006),
Chicago (2005), Turku (2004), and Ottawa (2003).


Jamie Vicary
Miguel Navasques
Matthias Christandl
Paulo Perinotti


Bart Jacobs (effectus theory)
Dan Marsden (categorical string diagrams)
Ronald de Wolf (quantum algorithms)
Simon Perdrix (TBC)


There will be a satellite workshop on Quantum Structures hosted by
the International Quantum Structures Association (IQSA) from
Tuesday July 4th to Friday the 7th. Look out for details on the
QPL website and via an official announcement later this year!


Submission: 21 April, 2017
Notification: 29 May
Papers ready: 23 June
Conference: 3-7 July


Prospective speakers are invited to submit a contribution to the
 - Original contributions consist of a 5-12 page extended abstract
   which provides sufficient evidence of results of genuine interest
   and enough detail to allow the program committee to assess the
   merits of the work. Submission of substantial albeit partial
   results of work in progress is encouraged. Authors of accepted
   papers will be invited to give long or short talks, depending on
   the quality and/or maturity of the submission.

 - Extended abstracts describing work submitted/published elsewhere
   will also be considered, provided the work is recent and relevant
   to the conference. These consist of a 3 page description and should
   include a link to a separate published paper or preprint.

Extended versions of accepted original research contributions will be
published in Electronic Proceedings in Theoretical Computer Science
(EPTCS) after the conference.

Submissions should be prepared using LaTeX, and must be submitted
in PDF format. Use of the EPTCS style is encouraged. Submission is
done via EasyChair:

There will be an award for the best paper whose authors are all
students, at the discretion of the programme committee.


Registration will be opened later, please visit the website for more


Aleks Kissinger (Radboud, co-chair)
Bob Coecke (Oxford, co-chair)
Bart Jacobs (Radboud)
Benoit Valiron (Paris-Sud)
Benno Van Den Berg (Amsterdam)
Chris Heunen (Edinburgh)
Dan Browne (University College London)
Daniel Oi (Strathclyde)
Dominic Horsman (Durham)
Dusko Pavlovic (Hawaii)
Giulio Chiribella (Hong Kong)
Hans Maassen (Radboud)
Isar Stubbe (Littoral-Cote-d'Opale)
Jamie Vicary (Oxford)
Joachim Kock (Barcelona)
John Baez (UC Riverside)
Kohei Kishida (Oxford)
Matt Leifer (Chapman)
Matty Hoban (Oxford)
Michael Moortgat (Utrecht)
Mingsheng Ying (UT Sydney)
Miriam Backens (Bristol)
Paolo Perinotti (Pavia)
Paul-Andre Mellies (Paris Diderot)
Pawel Sobocinski (Southampton)
Peter Selinger (Dalhousie)
Prakash Panangaden (McGill)
Rick Blute (Ottowa)
Rob Spekkens (Permiter Institute)
Robert Raussendorf (British Columbia)
Ross Duncan (Strathclyde)
Samson Abramsky (Oxford)
Simon Gay (Glasgow)
Simon Perdrix (CNRS Nancy)


Bob Coecke (University of Oxford)
Prakash Panangaden (McGill University)
Peter Selinger (Dalhousie University)


Aleks Kissinger
Bart Jacobs
Sander Uijlen

« back